Thanks for fighting with me

Growing up, I hated despised arguments and all other types of conflict involving myself. To a certain degree, I still do. I mean, who really actually likes to dish it out with someone from the moment you wake up throughout the rest of the day?

I still don’t like arguing with my boyfriend or my parents or my friends, but over the past couple years, I’ve learned that it is okay sometimes. Sometimes, an argument is needed so that both sides are spoken out and all the cards are laid out on the table. Once all this is out, the problem is solved, and things are even better than they were previously.

Today, not too long ago. Within the past hour actually. I had an argument with a friend. However, this wasn’t the first argument in a long time. We recently had one a couple of months ago. And honestly, I walked out of the last argument thinking I should not have forgiven her so easily.

Turns out I was right. Another argument today. Oh and she’s blocking my number, you know because we’re back in middle school. But that is beside the point.

Looking back, conflicts help us realize who we have been dealing with this whole time. In an argument, the good, the bad, and the ugly comes out. You learn about who you were before the argument and after a while, you find out who you’ve grown into.

Through all my conflicts I have become more sure of myself. I know what I stand for and I know why I stand for it. I know how to listen to someone, but make sure my voice is heard as well.

So thanks my childhood friend. You’ve somehow managed to make me more confident in myself with our recent argument. You’ve also somehow managed to break my writers block.

From the bottom of my heart,

Thank you. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

