A Letter of Gratitude To My Parents

Dear Mom and Dad,

It’s funny that I write this letter here, because chances are you will never see it. But that is part of the reason why I wanted to write it on here. I wanted to get out some things, but at the same time I couldn’t picture myself saying this to your faces without crying.

While working as a babysitter, I get a little glimpse of parenthood and oh boy, was that a rude awakening on some days. I have seen and experienced some of the things you guys have gone through in the past two decades and change. Growing up in America, I have seen many different children from different cultures and traditions. Everyone was raised (at least a little) differently. However, I could not picture myself being raised by anyone other than you two.

Kudos to you two. You two came to a new, less conservative country to raise a daughter and build a life. You left what was known and familiar to give our family the best life possible. I say kudos mainly because you struggled to find the balance between traditional guidelines and the more modern lifestyle here in America.

Today, I have brown parents who are proud of me. They haven’t pushed me into a career that I did not choose for myself. (Although I did give them a heart attack every time I changed my mind) You two have been supportive of me through everything, through friend drama in my teenage years. When I started drinking and partying, you two put your trust in me and somehow knew the right balance of when to say yes and when to say no. I’m pretty sure I gave my father a heart attack when I said I have a boyfriend. But both of you were supportive, granted I understood the scrutiny you two were under and still are under. I understand that you two do not want me to get hurt in any way and don’t want people talking badly about me, saying I wasn’t raised right or I rebelled into a horrible person.

You both taught me values that, it’s sad to say, but many of the people my age do not even understand. You taught me to be independent, while knowing when to lean on someone’s shoulder for support. You taught me to budget my money while maintaining my accounts (although there are times when I splurge a liittlleee too much on ColourPop or clothes, whhoops). I’ve learned to be confident in who I am and approach the world as myself, without hiding any flaws or being ashamed of any aspect of myself.

Thanks to you two, I became the person I am today. I have my fun, but I stay safe and responsible. I nerd out and love to learn, but also know when to take a break and enjoy life. I know how to show compassion and care for others, but make sure to prioritize my needs as well. I know how to stand on my own two feet, if the need be.

I am infinitely and extremely grateful to you both, mom and dad. You two have struggled to raise a daughter while balancing two worlds, fighting off scrutiny and criticism from more traditional families. You two have given me so much more than I could have ever asked for, however, does that stop me from asking for more? nope. But regardless, I am aware of all that I have received and I am eternally thankful.

I love you both more than I could ever express in words, hugs, kisses, or tears.

Thank you,

Your always little, baby girl.

Leave a Reply

