I Have Lived A Thousand Lives 12.19.14

Good evening loves! How has everyone been? I am finally free from the horrendous Finals Week and I am glad to be back on my game, my lying around in pjs, binge-watching Netflix, and drinking tea while reading books game, to be specific.

I was born in Bayonne, New Jersey. I grew up in the projects. I never went anywhere. But I have lived a thousand lives and I’ve loved a thousand loves. I’ve walked on distant worlds and seen the end of time. Because I read.

-George R.R. Martin

So, as I previously said I am back on my game, which means I am back to reading books. I came up with this post because, well I have known this quote for some time now, but as I was dragging myself through finals week, all I could think about was getting to read new books once it was all over.

One of my favorite places is Barnes and Nobles. The bigger, the better in this case. Just knowing I am about to walk into a building filled with new books and spines that haven’t been cracked yet gets me all warm and fuzzy inside. I absolutely love the idea of sitting on the floor with my back to a shelf and sifting through the first few pages of books. The best and worst part, the purchase. The purchase guarantees me an exciting next few hours, days, or months even depending on the number of books I’ve bought. However, it also means my wallet has lost a significant amount of weight.

But back to my point, books are a window into another life. The author outlines everything, but it is ultimately up to you as to how you perceive the story. Some authors characterize an author to the point where you know every inch of them from head to toe, while others give you the basics, the eye color, maybe the hair color,  but the rest is for your imagination to run wild with.

Most of them come with a predetermined destiny and plot, however if you really wanted to, you could change things up. Have the girl end up with the second lead and keep the villain alive, but make him change his ways. You are given parameters, but the rest is for you to create and mend to your liking.

Like it the way it is? Perfect. You can enter another world, as the quote says, live another life, and love another love.

So this holiday, I encourage you guys to sit down, with tea and by candlelight or not, but just open that book that has been on the shelf for too long. Live a different life and fall in love with the words on a page.

Anyone have any favorite books? Genres? Any suggestions? I’m open to everything and anything!

Leave a Reply

